Live in Dublin: Bruce Springsteen with the Sessions Band

January 28, 2012 4 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

The Boss has arrived on Blu-ray, so fans can watch this two night performance over and again, in glorious high definition with a blissful uncompressed PCM soundtrack. The concert was a two night shot at The Point in Dublin, Ireland on November 15th and 16th of 2006, with the Sessions Band at his side. I’m not a fan of Bruce Springsteen, but this concert wasn’t a chore to watch or even listen to. The Boss takes some well known songs and puts a new arrangement behind them, which really works quite well in some cases and only a little in others. If you want a rundown of his greatest hits performed live, this isn’t the release you want, this is a much more eclectic, unique lineup of music. This Blu-ray presentation looks good and sounds great though and of course, I included a list of the songs performed below.

1. Atlantic City

2. Old Dan Tucker

3. Eyes on the Prize

4. Jesse James

5. Further On (Up the Road)

6. O Mary Don’t You Weep

7. Erie Canal

8. If I Should Fall Behind

9. My Oklahoma Home

10. Highway Patrolman

11. Mrs. McGrath

12. How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live

13. Jacob’s Ladder

14. Long Time Comin’

15. Open All Night

16. Pay Me My Money Down

17. Growin’ Up

18. When the Saints Go Marching In

19. This Little Light of Mine

20. American Land

21. Blinded by the Light

Video: How does it look?

The concert is presented in 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen. This is a direct digital transfer, which means grain and debris are not an issue in the least. The vivid colors stream across the screen via the lights used, which makes for a great visual, but also obscures a certain level of detail. If you have lights strobing or flashing all the time, it throws the detail level off and that is the case here, but to be fair, detail is still solid. And for the material, the transfer is as good as we could want, but I did want to mention the soft detail, as I know some folks expect razor sharp depth from all high definition releases.

Audio: How does it sound?

The audio is not only better than the video, it is fantastic and really makes you feel like you’re at the concert. I went with the uncompressed PCM 5.1 option, which is almost perfect and offers a dynamic, memorable experience. The surrounds just open up and immersive you in the music, with great depth and presence. This is as close as you can get to the concert without being there, simply tremendous work. This disc also includes a PCM stereo soundtrack, as well as a Dolby Digital 5.1 track

Supplements: What are the extras?

The lone supplements are bonus performances of Love of the Common People and We Shall Overcome, but I think fans will be pleased to find these extra tunes.

Disc Scores