Elvis ’68 Comeback Special

January 28, 2012 5 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

Elvis is back! Well…at least in spirit and on DVD with this release from Warner Bros. This release covers the ’68 Comeback Special in which Elvis reignited his musical career and soon left his cinematic days long behind him. It had been over seven years since Elvis had taken the stage to make some sweet music due to this busy movie career, but once he stepped up and took the microphone it was like he was never even gone. Elvis shows no stage rust here at all and sounds as good as ever, as well as still burning up the floor with his dance moves. As if thrilling the live audience wasn’t enough, this concert was later broadcast on NBC and once again Elvis raked in the ratings for the studio. This is a performance no Elvis fan can live without and thanks to Warner Bros., you can now own it on the best darn format there is!

As I mentioned above Elvis has been absent from the stage for over seven years before this performance, but more than makes up for that time with his routine. Of course he doles out some of his classic hits as usual, but he also mixes in some new material also. So he might have been gone from the stage, but the music was still playing inside him the whole time. In the middle of the show he breaks into a terrific gospel medley, which could serve as the show’s highlight if the finale weren’t so powerful. With over seventy minutes of live music from Elvis, what more can you want? This is a terrific performance that has been given a wonderful treatment here on home video, including an excellent Dolby Digital 5.1 surround remix. I know Elvis fans will want this one for sure, but anyone who loves amazing live musical performances should give this one a gander also. Below is a track listing.

1. Trouble/Guitar Man
2. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
3. Heartbreak Hotel
4. Hound Dog
5. All Shook Up
6. Can’t Help Falling In Love
7. Jailhouse Rock
8. Don’t Be Cruel
9. Love Me Tender
10. Gospel Medley
11. That’s All Right
12. Tiger Man
13. Trying To Get You
14. Baby, What You Want Me To Do
15. One Night
16. Memories
17. Another Medley
18. If I Can Dream

Video: How does it look?

The ’68 Comeback Special is presented in a full frame transfer, which retains the original aspect ratio of the release. The image seems a little soft, but I assume it looks as good if not better than the original broadcast. The colors look full, but a little soft and flesh tones appear natural also. The contrast seems right on, as no blooming emerges and shadows remain in check. If you’re supposed to it, you’ll be able to. This is an average looking transfer, but since you’ll be focusing on the music it doesn’t matter as much.

Audio: How does it sound?

This release contains a newly redone Dolby Digital 5.1 track, which means this is the best way to absorb the music of Elvis. The surrounds pulse throughout the concert and never let up, so I can’t imagine a more immersive way to enjoy this music. The subwoofer sees some limited action, but then again Elvis wasn’t a thumper now was he? The mix keeps the vocals and music in check and makes sure they never impede on each other.

Supplements: What are the extras?

This release includes a small slide show of stills, which makes a nice addition.

Disc Scores