ZZTop Live from Texas (Blu-ray)

January 28, 2012 4 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

I am not a big fan of ZZ Top, but I do like some of their better known hits, so I gave Live From Texas a spin. This concert looks and sounds great, but the actual content isn’t all that memorable. The first two thirds of the show are songs I’ve mostly never heard of with a couple minor hits tossed in. I could understand this if the band was pushing their new release, but this concert had no such album to promote. So why not go for the gusto and roll out a blockbuster chain of hits for the band’s first live concert release? The last few songs do make up for the rest of the show however, with a nice run of rockin’ tunes that made the band famous. I wasn’t too taken with Live From Texas, but if you’re a hardcore ZZ Top fan, then you’ll want to at least check out the show and this high definition is the best way to do so. Below is a set list from the concert.

1. Got Me Under Pressure

2. Waitin’ for the Bus

3. Jesus Just Left Chicago

4. I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide

5. Pin Cushion

6. Cheap Sunglasses

7. Pearl Necklace

8. Heard It On The X

9. Just Got Paid

10. Rough Boy

11. Blue Jean Blues

12. Gimme All Your Lovin’

13. Sharp Dressed Man

14. Legs

15. Tube Snake Boogie

16. La Grange

17. Tush

Video: How does it look?

ZZ Top: Live From Texas is presented in 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen. This transfer is 1080i, which is sure to piss off some folks, but it still looks damn good. The concert has a cool visual design, with sleek set pieces and a bright LCD backdrop, so there is plenty to soak in. This transfer delivers impressive detail too, so all the small touches stand out and the image has great clarity that makes it a pleasure for the eyes. The colors are on the cool side, but that is part of the visual design and when needed, they warm and as for contrast, I found black levels to be spot on. So while the lack of 1080p might upset some viewers, there is no doubt that the concert looks tremendous.

Audio: How does it sound?

This release has dual 5.1 options, so whether you prefer DTS HD or PCM audio, you’re covered. I went with the DTS HD 5.1 option and it sounds very good, but not up with the best concerts I’ve heard. The music has a rich, full soundscape, using the front channels to deliver the bulk of the material. The rear channels are mostly used for ambient sound or crowd noise, so it feels like you’re in the middle of the crowd, which is effective. The instruments all sound great and well placed, while the vocals have a clear, loud presence as well. This disc also includes a PCM stereo soundtrack, as well as subtitles in English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, and Norwegian.

Supplements: What are the extras?

This disc includes some backstage footage, footage from a photo shoot, a poker game with insight into the band’s past, and a bonus live performance of Jimi Hendrix’s Foxey Lady.

Disc Scores