Robbie Williams: Live at the Albert

January 28, 2012 4 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

I guess you can call me out of style, but I’ve never found the music of Robbie Williams to be that impressive. I mean, he has a good voice and some decent songs, but he’s not innovative or outstanding, just a solid musician. But in this era of MTV propaganda assaults, Williams has been stuff down our throats and his career has taken off, much like countless media whores before him. In this effort, he performs Sinatra style and doesn’t really do the music justice, though he does a fair enough treatment. I just don’t understand why he’s called such a showman, I found the show to be dull and eventful, to be honest. So I can’t recommend this disc in terms of content, but Capitol has issued an excellent disc and to fans of Williams, it is a terrific release. Below is a list of the songs Williams performs in this program.

1. Have You Met Miss Jones?
2. Mac the Knife
3. Straighten Up and Fly Right
4. Let’s Face the Music and Dance
5. Well Did You Evah?
6. Lady is a Tramp
7. Things
8. One for my Baby
9. Mr. Bojangles
10. I Will Talk and Hollywood Will Listen
11. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear from Me
12. Beyond the Sea
13. Me and my Shadow
14. Ain’t that a Kick in the Head
15. It Was a Very Good Year
16. My Way

Video: How does it look?

Robbie Williams: Live at the Albert is presented in a 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen transfer. This is one of the best looking concert releases I’ve seen, with an image that almost hits references levels, but not quite. The knocks would be some jagged edges and shimmering, but these are minor and as such, no need to be concerned. The colors jump right off the screen at times, with bold hues that really stand out, but never bleed or smear. No problems with contrast either, as black levels are smooth as can be, while detail is excellent throughout. I was quite stunned by how sharp and impressive this transfer is, superb work in all respects.

Audio: How does it sound?

As this is a musical concert release, you expect top level audio and with the included Dolby Digital 5.1 option, that’s what we’re given. This mix puts you right in the front row of the show, with a skillful balance of power & subtle moments. The entire surround system is put through the paces, with terrific depth and very creative use of the speakers. But the elements remain clean and distinct here, so separation is good, which is important in a musical release. An almost reference level mix, this one will have fans thrilled and feeling like they’re right in the audience. This disc also includes a 2.0 surround mix, in case that better suits your needs.

Supplements: What are the extras?

This disc includes bonus footage from the event, a behind the scenes featurette (approx. 20 minutes), the Somethin’ Stupid music video, a brief interview with the video’s director, a montage of Williams’ music video moments, and a selection of still photos.

Disc Scores