Sound and Motion-Volume 1

January 28, 2012 3 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

This disc offers a gallery of electronic music, forming sort of a best of the best format. If you enjoy electronic music, this is a disc you won’t want to miss, especially if you’re new to the genre, since you can discover some lower profile talented artists here. This is a musical release, so there’s really not much more to say about it. This is a well arranged disc, with some choice tunes on board. Below is a listing of the tracks you’ll find on the disc.

1. The Chemical Brothers- Block Rockin’ Beats
2. Fatboy Slim- The Rockafeller Skank
3. Jacknife Lee- Bursting Off the Backbeat
4. Josh Wink- Simple Man
5. The Crystal Method- Busy Child
6. The Prodigy- Poison
7. Mocean Worker- Detonator
8. Goldie- Temper Temper
9. Dieselboy And Technical Itch- Atlantic State
10. Photek- Ni Ten Ichi Ryu (Two Sword Techniques)
11. Roni Size/ Reprazent- Brown Paper Bag
12. Adam F- Circles
13. Talvin Singh- Jaan
14. Sly And Robbie- Superthruster
15. Underworld- Push Upstairs
16. Deep Dish W/ EBTG- The Future of the Future (Stay Gold)

Video: How does it look?

The videos are presented in their original aspect ratios, some in non anamorphic widescreen, the rest in full frame. Some videos use grain and distortion for effect, so flaws you find within the visuals are intentional. Colors and contrast levels seem in order, and compression errors emerge either. You’re not going to find a better looking release of these videos anywhere.

Audio: How does it sound?

This is where I have to pick this disc apart. While the case proclaims the tracks were remastered in Dolby Digital 5.1 audio, only select tracks show the signs of the enhanced mix. I’m not saying the other tracks don’t sound good, but you can tell which tracks adapt to the new remastering better than others. In every case, the tracks sound light years better than other formats, and the best of them sound amazing. The bass is strong with all the tracks, and you’ll have little complaints on the whole audio package. I simply wish all the tracks were mixed as good as the best ones present, that would have made this disc audio reference material.

Supplements: What are the extras?

The disc includes two trailers for upcoming Palm Pictures releases, as well as an anti-drug message from rapper Chuck D. What, no running commentary from Goldie?

Disc Scores