Steely Dan’s Two Against Nature

January 28, 2012 4 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

I have to admit up front that Steely Dan is not a band I follow, so if I miss the deep meaning of their music or whatever I apologize to their hard-core fanbase. I think Steely Dan is a solid rock band and though none of their songs hit much of a chord with me, some of them are fun to listen to which is always a positive trait. So while I am not enamored with them I can easily see how they have become so successful, they play good music. I won’t try to classify Steely Dan’s sound in the least, but I would place them in the classic rock area for sure, which isn’t a bad thing by any means. As far as this release goes I find their stage work to be solid, but in the end unmemorable. But I am sure more involved folks will disagree with me and I can understand why, since they’re more into the band than I am. From what I understand Steely Dan isn’t known for touring much and I think that explains some of the lack of showmanship the players have. Sure the music sounds good and all, but they lack the pizzazz I expect from a live performance. This release also contains some nice interviews, with both fans and the band which adds some extra value to the presentation. This is a solid live performance coupled with some nice interviews, which means fans of the band won’t to miss this release, especially because of the amazing sound! Below is a track listing.

1. Green Earrings
2. Cousin Dupree
3. Bad Sneakers
4. Janie Runaway
5. Josie
6. FM
7. Gaslighting Abbey
8. Black Friday
9. Babylon Sisters
10. Kid Charlemagne
11. Jack Of Speed
12. Peg
13. What A Shame About Me
14. Pretzel Logic

Video: How does it look?

Steely Dan: 2 Against Nature is presented in a full frame transfer, which retains the original aspect of the concert film. The footage from the concert looks sharp, but of course lacks the shine and polish a motion picture would display. The colors seem bright and never bleed, while the contrast allows for a high level of detail. As far as concert footage goes, it just doesn’t get much better than this. The interview sequences also look good, but have more of a hand held camera look to them which isn’t a bad thing. So all in all, a very solid visual presentation.

Audio: How does it sound?

This release contains dual Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1 audio tracks and when you pop this disc in, prepare to be blown away! While the Dolby Digital track did pack some serious power, I have to recommend the DTS version since it left me feelings like I was in the middle of a real concert. The surrounds are used with more immersive and directional effects, which gives it an edge over the Dolby Digital counterpart. But whichever track you choose you’ll be pleased with the results, since both are excellent in all respects. The instruments come through well and in distinct fashion and I even noticed some heavy bass use at times. This wouldn’t make too bad if a demo disc if you like classic rock and the disc also includes a 2.0 surround track.

Supplements: What are the extras?

This disc contains no bonus materials.

Disc Scores