Adventure Time: The Complete Fifth Season (Blu-ray)

July 28, 2015 4 Min Read

Review by: Matt Brighton

Plot: What’s it about?

Adventure Time follows the unlikely heroes Finn and Jake, best buddies who traverse the mystical Land of Ooo and encounter its colorful inhabitants – and always find themselves in the middle of heart-pounding escapades. Finn, a silly kid with an awesome hat and Jake, a brassy dog with a big kind heart, depend on each other through thick and thin. The Land of Ooo is teeming with imposing mountains, lush green plains, accessible forests, ubiquitous prairies and winding rivers, the cities and towns are filled with bizarre characters in need of unique assistance. Whether it’s saving Princess Bubblegum, defeating zombie candy, mocking the “oxy-moronic” Ice King, or rocking out with undead music wiz Marceline the Vampire Queen, with Finn and Jake it’s always Adventure Time.

This fifth season contains 52 episodes:

  • Finn the Human
  • Jake the Dog
  • Five More Short Graybles
  • Up a Tree
  • All the Little People
  • Jake the Dad
  • Davey
  • Mystery Dungeon
  • All Your Fault
  • Little Dude
  • Bad Little Boy
  • Vault of Bones
  • The Great Bird Man
  • Simon and Marcy
  • A Glitch Is a Glitch
  • Puhoy
  • BMO Lost
  • Princess Potluck
  • James Baxter the Horse
  • Shh!
  • The Suitor
  • The Party’s Over, Isla de Señorita
  • One Last Job
  • Another Five More Short Graybles
  • Candy Streets
  • Wizards Only, Fools
  • Jake Suit
  • Be More
  • Sky Witch
  • Frost & Fire
  • Too Old
  • Earth & Water
  • Time Sandwich
  • The Vault
  • Love Games
  • Dungeon Train
  • The Box Prince
  • Red Starved
  • We Fixed a Truck
  • Play Date
  • The Pit
  • James
  • Root Beer Guy
  • Apple Wedding
  • Blade of Grass
  • Rattleballs
  • The Red Throne
  • Betty
  • Bad Timing
  • Lemonhope (1)
  • Lemonhope (2)
  • Billy’s Bucket List

Video: How’s it look?

Like the previous seasons, Adventure Time simply shines on Blu-ray.  Yes, I knew that the colors would be bold and bright, I was hoping that some of the things that bothered me about the first season might have been fixed, but they really hadn’t.  But in the grand scheme of things, it’s really not that big of a deal as the 1.78:1 VC-1 HD encode really looks pretty darn good.  I’ve yet to catch an episode as it’s been broadcast, but I’m sure the quality is the same if not better on disc.

Audio: How’s it sound?

As with the previous seasons, we’re presented with the same Dolby Digital 2.0 mix that serves its purpose, but not much else.  I don’t know if the third season will feature a more robust sound minx and I doubt it’ll keep me up at night wondering, but simply put – this does what it’s supposed to and not much else.  The vocals are crisp and clear any and all sound effects are present and have no distortion, but in this day and age of uncompressed sound, it really is kind of disappointing to have a show not be presented in at least 5.1 sound – in some way, shape or form.

Supplements: What are the extras?

Though this two disc set packs in the episodes (all 52 of them), the audio commentaries that were present on some earlier seasons’ episodes are lacking. All we get here is a scant offering of supplements.

  • Adventure Time Forever – A brief history of the show and its origins, featuring some interviews with the cast and crew and creators of the series.
  • Animatic Clips – Pretty self-explanatory, just some raw “footage” of the episodes.
  • Special Snail Hunt – A hidden feature, this allows the user to explore some of the concept art for the show.

Disc Scores