Elvis: Aloha from Hawaii (Via Satellite)

January 28, 2012 4 Min Read

Review by: Fusion3600

Plot: What’s it about?

This release showcases one of the most memorable performances of one of the all time musical greats. No, I am not reviewing This Is Spinal Tap, this review covers Elvis Presley’s legendary Aloha From Hawaii concert, which is considered one of the finest live performances of all time, with good reason. This concert was held in Hawaii, of course, to be broadcast via satellite to over forty countries, to be seen by one and a half billion people. That’s fifty-one percent of the American viewing audience, more people saw this than witnessed man’s walk on the moon! Now those are some numbers, eh? Also, this incredible concert from the King himself, was not just another typical concert in another way. The tickets were not sold with a price on them, instead those who wanted to go simply paid what they could afford. The proceeds from this concert as well as the rehearsal concert (also available on DVD) were donated to Kui Lee Cancer Fund.

This concert is one of Elvis finest performances, and contains many of his top hits, as well as lesser known tunes. As such, you’ll find a nice mixture of music here, Elvis doesn’t just perform his top selling stuff here, he pulls out all the stops. With this release, millions more can enjoy this incredible performance from one of music’s finest, and in digital form, even! This release contains over seventy minutes of concert footage, plus a few bonus track thrown in for good luck. Of course, those Elvis nuts out there will want to pick this title up, but with such a wide base of people who like this music, I think many others will want to peruse this as well. Below is a track listing.

1. See See Rider
2. Burning Love
3. Something
4. You Gave Me A Mountain
5. Steamroller Blues
6. My Way
7. Love Me
8. It’s Over
9. Blue Suede Shoes
10. Hound Dog
11. What Now, My Love
12. Fever
13. Welcome To My World
14. Suspicious Minds
15. I’ll Remember You
16. Long Tall Sally/ Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On
17. Goin’ On
18. An American Trilogy
19. Can’t Help Fallin’ In Love

Bonus Tracks

1. Blue Hawaii
2. Hawaiian Wedding Song
3. Ku-Ku-I-Po
4. Early Morning Rain
5. No More

Video: How does it look?

Aloha From Hawaii, Via Satellite is presented in the original full frame aspect ratio, just as it appeared on television. The image looks as good as broadcast, perhaps a little sharper. The colors look vivid, between the flashing lights and stage adornments, which are quite cool. The contrast is well balanced here, no overly dark or light regions appear. The transfer is also free from compression errors.

Audio: How does it sound?

This release uses a Dolby Digital 5.1 track, which creates a nice atmosphere for this fantastic concert. The surrounds get quite a workout, even in the slower songs. The bass doesn’t kick that much, but come on, it’s Elvis, not Dr. Dre. The mix keeps the elements from intruding on each other, which creates a better overall sound.

Supplements: What are the extras?

This release contains a slide show, as well as some bonus songs. The bonus songs are Blue Hawaii, Hawaiian Wedding Song, Ku-Ku-I-Po, Early Morning Rain, and No More. The more Elvis the better, right?

Disc Scores